EA SPORTS FIFA 22 Global Series

EA SPORTS FIFA 22 Global Series

Welcome to the EA SPORTS FIFA 22 Global Series! You will find everything you need to know about this competition on this page.


About the EA Sports FIFA 22 Global Series

The EA SPORTS FIFA 21 Global Series is where the top FIFA players in the world prove themselves as the best.

To take part in either the Solo or Duo competitions, you’ll want to do the following:

– Register and accept the Official Rules on the FIFA Global Series website starting October 4th, 2021, and ending December 31st, 2021
– Compete in FUT Division Rivals, reach the Elite Division, and climb the ranks

Your FUT Divisions Rivals Elite Tier Skill Rating at the end of each FUT Division Rivals season is what determines your eligibility for online competitions like the FGS Open and FGS Qualifiers. Additionally, highly ranked registered players may receive additional perks like access to the Competitive Game Mode and early registration for the open bracket of the Team of the Season Cup. Remember, FUT Division Rivals, as well as matches in the Competitive Game Mode, will all use the new Competitive Settings.

FIFA esports is ready to make a move a full year after the release of a new generation of consoles. All online and offline competitions run by EA will be offered exclusively on PlayStation 5. PlayStation was chosen as our partner for this based on their historical support of FIFA esports and to retain familiarity for our global FUT Champions Verified player base, the vast majority of whom are on PlayStation consoles.

Qualification for online tournaments will be handled through the combined PlayStation FUT Rivals rankings, but the Competitive game mode used in tournaments will only be available on newer generation hardware.


2v2 Team Play

Global Series Open
The FIFA Global Series Open consists of 16 online tournaments taking place from December 8th to 12th, 2021, with the following maximum team count:
Buenos Aires Open – 128 Teams
Dubai Open – 128 Teams
Frankfurt Open – 128 Teams
Johannesburg Open – 32 Teams
Madrid Open – 128 Teams
Mexico City Open – 64 Teams
Miami Open – 64 Teams
Milan Open – 128 Teams
Paris Open – 128 Teams
Portland Open – 64 Teams
Sao Paulo Open – 128 Teams
Singapore Open – 64 Teams
Stockholm Open – 128 Teams
Sydney Open – 32 Teams
Tokyo Open – 32 Teams
Washington Open – 64 Teams
The winner of each of the 16 Opens will earn a seat at the Team of the Year Cup, the first FUT Champions Cup of the year. To participate in the Global Series Open, each team captain must play well in the first FUT Division Rivals season of the year ending on November 11th, 2021. The top-ranked registered players at the end of the season in each region will receive an invitation to join.

Team of the Year Cup
The 16 teams from the Global Series Open will join 16 invited teams with a long history of successful results in the FIFA Global Series. If conditions allow, the Team of the Year Cup will be our first in-person global competition in two years! The winning team of the Team of the Year Cup will earn a seat at the FIFAe Club World Cup 2022™ and the top 16 teams will also reserve themselves a spot in the Group Stage of the Team of the Season Cup in the spring, our biggest event of the season. You’ll be able to watch the entire competition on Twitch and YouTube from January 21st – 23rd, 2022.

Team of the Season Cup
The Team of the Season Cup will consist of a Group Stage, a Championship Bracket, and if conditions allow, a large in-person 256 team open bracket. It will take place from April 29th to May 1st, 2022.



The Road to the FIFAe World Cup

Online Qualifiers
There will be four online qualifiers in every region this year. Players will earn Global Series Points towards their regional rankings on FIFA.GG. At the end of the season, the top players in each region’s rankings leaderboard will be invited to the Global Series Playoffs to join the top finishing players of partner league and federation events.

This season, regions were split into more manageable divisions to improve the gameplay experience. Below you’ll see the list of this season’s regions and the maximum number of players per qualifier in each.
Europe East – 256
Europe West – 256
LatAm South – 256
LatAm North – 128
Middle East – 128
North America – 128
Africa – 32
Asia North – 32
Asia South – 32
Oceania – 32
Online Qualifiers with 32 or fewer players will be run in a Double Elimination format. Qualifiers with more players will have a Swiss stage followed by a Single Elimination stage. Players will receive Global Series Points depending on their finish. Only the top finishing players in the elimination stage of each tournament will receive Global Series Points. Online Qualifiers will take place on the following dates:
November 27th to 28th, 2021
February 12th to 13th, 2022
April 16th to 17th, 2022
Late May and early June, 2022
Squad building requirements may vary from event to event and will be made available to players in advance of each Online Qualifier and the FGS Open. Players must play in the same Qualifier all year, tied to the country of residence upon registration.

League Events
A defining part of the FIFA Global Series is the ability to compete in and represent your favorite club in your domestic league. Our league partners will announce their esports plans over the coming days, weeks, and months. By competing, you’ll have the opportunity to earn a seat at the Global Series Playoffs. The CONMEBOL eLibertadores and UEFA eChampions League events will also return to South America and Europe respectively. We’ll have more details on both events shortly.

Global Series Playoffs
The final step before the FIFAe World Cup is the Global Series Playoffs. Roughly half of the participants for the Global Series Playoffs will earn their way there through their domestic league and federation programs. The other half will come from the Regional Rankings.


Newly Eligible Countries

Every year EA evaluates new countries to add to the Global Series so that residents of as many places as possible can compete. Not all of the places EA investigated are ready for inclusion just yet, but EA can confirm that the following new additions will be able to participate this year:

Bosnia & Herzegovina
Dominican Republic
El Salvador
Trinidad & Tobago

5 thoughts on “EA SPORTS FIFA 22 Global Series”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *