Manchester FUT Champions Cup Tournament Overview

FUT Champions Cup


The second FIFA 18 Global Series event is almost here — the Manchester FUT Champions Cup! The top 128 eligible FUT Champions players will converge on one of the global centres of world football: Manchester, England, UK. Competitors will face off in a three-day event at the Victoria Warehouse on April 13 to 15, with the top 8 players on each console moving on to the Global Series playoffs later this year. If you want to know more about this competition, keep reading this page.


Manchester FUT Champions Cup Tournament Overview

This is the right time to make a Manchester FUT Champions Cup Tournament Overview.


The players participating in this tournament are the best of the best in FUT 18, and as we saw in the Barcelona event in January, the new tournament format is guaranteed to provide drama and entertainment throughout the event. Many of the same players that competed in Barcelona are returning, hoping for redemption—or revenge—and a spot in the Global Series Playoffs. Matches between fan favourites, world champions, and underdogs make for excellent, thrilling viewing and a truly competitive event.

Catch all the FUT Champions Cup action from Manchester on the EA SPORTS Twitch Channel, YouTube Channel, Twitter and Facebook starting on Friday, April 13 from the Victoria Warehouse.

A total of $200,000 USD in cash prizes will be awarded at the Manchester FUT Champions Cup, including $22,000 for the winner. The remaining cash prizes will be distributed to the rest of the top 64. See below for details:

Prize Money USD
From 65 to 128 0
From 33 to 64 $1,000
From 17 to 32 $2,500
From 16 to 9 $5,000
From 8 to 5 $8,000
From 4 to 3 $10,000
2 $14,000
1 $22,000

The top 128 competitors from around the world qualified for the FUT Champions Cup Manchester by finishing at the top of the Global Weekend League Leaderboard in February. The majority of the tournament is played against other competitors on the same console, but the Grand Final is played between the PlayStation 4 champion and the Xbox One champion.

The format in Manchester will be the same as it was in Barcelona, most notably utilizing the Swiss-style for the group stage. The players are split into the group stage by console, and every player will only play against other players with their same record. Four wins automatically qualifies a player for the knock-out stage, whereas four losses means automatic elimination from the tournament.

Each match will consist of 2 games between the same opponents. The winner will be determined by the aggregate score.
Throughout every stage of the tournament, including the Grand Final, if a match remains tied in aggregate score after the second game, there will be Extra Time and if needed, penalties will decide the winner.

Each platform’s group stage will start with 64 players seeded based on their FUT Champions qualifying results, and it will end with 32 players qualifying for a single elimination Knock-out Stage with placement based on their group stage performance.
The group stage will be based on a Swiss-system tournament.

What this means is:
✔️ There will be 64 players in a single group.
✔️ All competitors are paired up for each match based on their record in the stage thus far, so everyone will only play against someone with their exact win-loss record.
✔️ Competitors will play up to seven matches (or fourteen games) in the Group Stage.
✔️ Competitors will not play two matches against the same opponent.
✔️ Competitors who earn four match wins will qualify for the Knock-out Stage
✔️ Competitors who register four-match losses will be immediately eliminated from the tournament

Each platform’s final 32 competitors down to 1
The 32 advancing competitors from each platform will be seeded into a single elimination bracket based on their record in the Group Stage. At the conclusion of the Knock-out Stage, each platform will have one competitor remaining, and the console winners will face off against each other in the Grand Final. The top eight competitors on each platform will secure a place in the FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs to be played in June.

The final stage of the FUT Champions Cup is the Grand Final, a two-game round between the winners of the PlayStation 4 Division and the Xbox One Division. One game is played on each console and the player with the highest aggregate score after the two games will win the Manchester FUT Champions Cup, and the US $22,000 prize.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *